Part 8, Note 43

Click Here to See All Notes to Part 8

Colorado Citizen, May 20, 1875, June 3, 1875; Register of Elected and Appointed State and County Officials, 1870-1875, Secretary of State Records (RG 307), Archives Division, Texas State Library; Colorado County Election Records, Book 1874-1884. The Democratic winners in the city elections of 1875 were Charles Brunson, James H. Simpson, and Richard A. Thornton; the Republican winner was Jahu W. Johnson. The winner who was endorsed by both parties was William Franckel. The Republican losers were Charles Schmidt, Charles Olaf Nelson, and Edmund Eason, who was the only black man in the race. The Democratic loser was Joseph W. Brown.